### FACULTY SENATE MINUTES May 5, 2016

Call to order: A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate of the University of North Alabama was held in room 330 of the University Commons on May 5, 2016. The meeting convened at 3:30 p.m.

### Social Work.

Members in attendance: Shane Banks, Doug Barrett, David Brommer, Daryl Brown, Amy Butler, Lisa Clayton, Amanda Coffman, Mohamad H. Elmasry, Sarah Franklin, Leah Graham, Mark Greer, Clarissa Hall, Dan Hallock, Felecia Harris, Scott Infanger, Keith Jones, Lisa Kirch, Ian Loeppky, George Makowski, Glenn Marvin, John McGee, Rachel McKelvey, Prema Monteiro, Katie Owens-Murphy, Alaina Patterson Reid, Jeffrey Ray, Lee Renfroe, Craig Robertson, Patricia Roden, Richard Statom, Daniel Stevens, Jessica Stovall, Alexander Takeuchi, Rachel Winston, and Ryan Zayac. President Kitts was also in attendance.

Members not in attendance (without proxy): Rae Atencio.

Approval of agenda: Richard Statom moved to amend the agenda to remove "Remarks from Vice-President Thornell." Marilyn Lee seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The

Remarks from President Kitts: The President thanked Dr. Franklin for her service as Senate President. He then gave an update on a few key issues.

President Kitts met recently with Shared Governance leaders to review feedback on the smoking and tobacco policy. He has also discussed the policy with the Executive Council. He feels that there is broad support of a move away from the current policy. He has asked the Executive Council and Shared Governance leaders to work toward going smoke-free by fall of 2017. He says that it is likely there will be changes to the existing tobacco policy in the coming year.

The education budget was passed on April 26. UNA's state appropriation will be up 3.7% for FY17. President Kitts said that his top budget priority is a cost of living adjustment for faculty and staff. To achieve this, he has to convince the Board of Trustees to increase tuition. Despite the increase in state appropriations and the expected increase in enrollment, he still feels the tuition increase is needed to ensure that there is enough revenue coming in to support a COLA.

President Kitts also gave a brief recap of his first year as President and his plan for the coming year. He feels that his first year was a good, successful year. He is very happy here, and his family is happy as well. He is proud of the direction we are moving. He did say that it is time to get out of "no man's land" in regards to Division I. Work is being done to determine what the future should be in regards to a possible move to Division I. He said that upper-division student housing is something that needs to be addressed. There is not a good place to move the freshmen as they transition to sophomores and leave the freshmen housing. He is engaging with the Board on this issue.

### Flections:

Faculty Senate Officers: The following Senate officers were elected: President-Elect: Dan Hallock; Secretary: Amy Butler; Executive Board: Clarissa Hall; and Executive Board: Karen Townsend.

Shared Governance Committees: See Appendix A for a listing of the nominees for the various Shared Governance committees.

University Committees: See Appendix B for a listing of the nominees for the various university committees.

Grievance Pool: See Appendix C for the nominees.

Due Process Pool: See Appendix D for the nominees.

Promotion and Tenure Portfolio Review Committee: See Appendix E for the nominees.

Faculty Development Leave Committee: See Appendix F for the nominee.

Information Items:

2016/2017 Meeting Schedule:

President Franklin reminded the new Senators that the 2016/17 meeting schedule was included in the agenda packet. She also pointed out that it was available on the Senate website.

Announcements:

Committee	Incumbent Faculty Member w/Term Expiring Aug. 2016	Representation per Shared Governance Document	Person Selected (or Re-elected) for Vacancy
Human Research Participants	Amanda Coffman	Chemistry, Biology, or Physics	Lisa Ann Blankinship Biology
Human Research Participants	Glenn Marvin	Chemistry, Biology, or Physics	Glenn Marvin Biology
Infrastructure Development	Patricia Roden	Faculty at large	Andrea Hunt Sociology
Institutional Effectiveness	Mark Foster	Faculty at large, but person w/institutional effectiveness reporting requirements	Mark Foster Finance
International Programs/Offerings	Dhrumil Patel	Education	Dhrumil Patel HES
International Programs/Offerings	Santanu Borah*	Business	Jeremy Stafford Management & Marketing
International Programs/Offerings	Clarissa Hall	Nursing	Clarissa Hall Nursing, Traditional
International Programs/Offerings	Pat Sanders*	Faculty at large, but person who led credit-bearing study abroad program in last 3 years	Greg Gaston Geography
Multicultural Advisory	Chong Qiu	Arts & Sciences	Ansley Quiros History
Multicultural Advisory	Doug Barrett	Business	Jeremy Stafford Management & Marketing

Multicultural Advisory

Sean Collin

**Business** 

Committee	Incumbent Faculty Member w/Term Expiring Aug. 2016	Representation per Shared Governance Document	Person Selected (or Re-elected) for
-----------	--	---	--

# Appendix B

The following lists do not require Shared Governance Executive Committee review. Please forward these lasts two pages directly to:

Regina Sherrill, Senior Asst.

# Appendix D

Faculty Pool for Due Process Committees
(if such a case arises during the coming year;
may include duplicates from Grievance Committee pool above)

## **Appendix E**

## Faculty Pool for University-Wide Promotion and Tenure Portfolio Review Committee

Note: Please be sure to include in your pool at least 1 faculty member from Business and 1 from Nursing, as the terms of the current representatives from those areas (Dennis Balch and Tera Kirman) expire this fall.

Martha Rock (Nursing, 2012-2014) Claudia Vance (At large, 2012-2014) Kristy Van Rensselaer (Business, 2013-2014) Brenda Webb

# Appendix F

# **Additional Committees**

Committee	Incumbent Faculty Member w/Term Expiring Aug. 2016	Representation per Committee Description	Person Selected (or Re-elected) for Vacancy
Faculty Development Leave Committee	Ann Dillon (retiring)	Faculty-at-Large	Kelly Latchaw English